I Wouldn’t Touch an Olive With a Ten-Foot Pole

Hey guys! Hope you’re hump day is going great. This morning, I had plans to attend a spin class, but ended up canceling it late last night and reserving the same class for this afternoon. I’m happy with my decision considering this morning was absolutely gorgeous.

coffee

When you’re on the balcony, Baxter is never far behind. Can you spot him?

BREAKFAST

I enjoyed my coffee on the balcony in the glorious sunshine. But then I remembered that we have no porch furniture, and drinking my coffee standing up didn’t sound as good as drinking it sitting down. Baxie agreed.

baxie sun

I spent the morning catching up on my favorite blogs and news sites. I am so happy that election commercials will simmer down now. Those things are in such poor taste and I can’t even stand to watch them. It’s cool that we have a new governor. Change is good sometimes.

Kimberly at Penny Pincher Fashion shared some fabulous picks from the Nordstrom fall clearance sale. Unfortunately (or fortunately?), I had no clue this sale was happening. Though I would love this and these and this, I’m going to refrain from buying anything and put myself on an austerity plan until Christmas.

After about an hour of perusing blogs, hunger struck. I threw the following ingredients into the blender to make a breakfast smoothie: handful of spinach + 1/2 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk + 1/2 banana + 1/2 C frozen cherries and blueberries +1 scoop About Time vanilla protein powder + 5 ice cubes.

shake

The rest of the morning included lots of this,

pink pad2

And this,

computer work2

LUNCH 

For a break, I went out downstairs to pick up our dry cleaning and mail before assembling a salad for lunch. Bobby ordered dinner last night for himself, but he needed me to also get something in order to hit the delivery minimum. I had already eaten my own early dinner, so I ordered a salad to be consumed for lunch today. Talk about meal planning!

salad2

I had to bribe Baxter with a piece of chicken on the floor so I could take this photo

It consisted of romaine lettuce + mozzarella + provolone + grilled chicken + red peppers + tomatoes + chickpeas + olives + croutons + a creamy greek dressing. I removed the olives because I hate them, and the croutons because they were soggy. I ended up eating all the toppings and some of the lettuce (like I always seem to do) mostly because the whole thing had a hint of olive-taste which I cannot handle. I added a pear on the side to make it a more fulfilling lunch.

Lunch got me thinking about which foods I dislike. For me, it’s all kinds of olives, mushrooms (though I like the soup?), grapefruit and pumpkin pie. I remember absolutely loving olives as a kid too. And I adored shrimp as a child, couldn’t stand it as a teen, and now it’s one of my favorites. Taste buds are weird little creatures. What about you?

  • What foods do you hate the smell/texture/taste of? 
  • Are there any foods you hated as a kid, but like now? Or vice versa?

I’ll be back later with a dinner and workout post. Have a great afternoon!

XO,

Lizzie

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Wouldn’t Touch an Olive With a Ten-Foot Pole

  1. Pingback: Healthy Superbowl Snacks | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

