A Killer Workout + Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Bake [Recipe]

Hi there!

Let’s pick up from where we left off this afternoon, shall we?

WORKOUT

Around 3 p.m., I started craving a snack and opened up one of these, a chocolate chip cookie dough Lara bar.

lara

While eating my snack, I caught up on a few thank you notes before getting ready for spin class.

thank u2

I am always so impressed by how fit, strong and motivating the instructors are at Fly Wheel, and I know it’s part of the reason I’ve fallen in love with the classes. There literally hasn’t been an instructor that I’ve disliked. The guy I had today looked like a professional athlete, and did the entire class (while yelling over the music or singing the lyrics) on his bike without losing a breath. It was like nothing I’d ever seen and so inspiring!

workout2

I felt like the instructor really pushed us and I loved it. You could say it was a successful workout.

sweaty2

Worn out & sweaty 

I hobbled home and jumped in the shower before getting dinner started. I saw this guy in our fridge this morning and I knew I wanted to do something with him.

spaghetti squash

I thought I’d pinned a spaghetti squash bake on Pinterest, but when I looked for the specific one I couldn’t find it. After some perusing (and still not finding the original pin), I found this recipe on Popsugar.com and made it my own based on what ingredients we had on hand.

diced2

with basil leaves2

Bobby and I both ended up loving this, and I will definitely be making it again.

cheesy squash

Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Bake (*modified from PopSugar.com recipe)

*Vegetarian, gluten-free

  • 1 whole spaghetti squash
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (or 1 tsp. jarred minced garlic)
  • 15 oz. tomato sauce
  • 1/2 tub fat-free ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 C shredded fat-free mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 C shredded parmesan
  • A few basil leaves (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Poke spaghetti squash all over with a knife and cook in the microwave for eight to 12 minutes until soft. While that’s cooking, add the oil, garlic, pepper, onion, and carrots to a pan, cooking over medium heat until onion are golden brown.

3. Cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, and with a fork, scrape the flesh from the peel. It should flake off easily in strings, resembling spaghetti. Place the spaghetti squash flesh in a casserole dish. Add the cooked veggies, tomato sauce, ricotta cheese and most of the shredded cheeses and mix well. Sprinkle leftover shredded cheeses on top and bake for 30 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly. With five minutes left, place torn basil leaves on top of pasta and bake for remaining time.

4. Serve & enjoy!

***

While we were eating our dinners and just chatting, Bobby looked over and noticed Baxter on top of the stove licking what remained of the pan! We found it hilarious because we had no idea how long he’d been over there. When he looked up, he was like a deer in headlights, with a tiny dot of dinner on his nose.

baxie spaghetti

Can you spot it?

XO,

Lizzie

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Killer Workout + Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Bake [Recipe]

  1. Pingback: How to Wear White in Winter | The Magic Tree

  2. Pingback: From Wimp to Weightlifter? | The Magic Tree

  3. Pingback: The Day That Got Away | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

