What I Wore: Charity Event Edition

Hi friends. Hope your weekend has been equal parts fun and rest. Ours sure has been.

Today we’ve been recuperating from the festivities of last night. There’s been a lot of couch time, some Netflix, and at least one nap. Eats today have also been very random (and un-pictured) – handfuls of SkinnyPop, string cheese, frozen fruit, pretzels and a Quest bar. Since today included a lackluster performance in the meals and fitness departments, let’s move on.

One of the many reasons I started this little blog is to share my interest in attainable fashion, knack for “shopping” my own closet, and down right skill at finding a bargain. Therefore, I’m planning to start a series on here called What I Wore, showcasing items that I (typically) already own, or at least can show you were to buy. We’ll start with last night’s look.

balcony2

(Excuse the grainy iPhone quality on all of these. I’m heading to Best Buy tomorrow to pick up a new camera cord)!

inside

My favorite part of my outfit was this teal coat. I bought it at consignment last spring, but hadn’t yet had a chance to wear it.

 coat

I wore a lip color that I was much darker in the tube, and I probably would have preferred darker, but it was still a nice contrast to the black and white.

lips

I’m drawn towards gold jewels most of the year, but in winter I always bring out my silver. My shoes are hard to see, but I ended up going with the Dolce Vita sandals from yesterday’s post. Since they are suede and such a dark shade of black, they worked perfectly with my tights.

hands

The whole venue looked gorgeous, but my favorite part were the tasting stations from some of Chicago’s top restaurants. It’s hard to snap pics while carry a drink + a clutch + a plate full of food (if someone has a trick for this, please let me know), but I nibbled on truffle mac-and-cheese and an eggroll.

photo 5

I wish I had a better photo of Kristin’s dress, but she looked beautiful in a dark green satin number and a fab statement necklace!

photo 3

Such a great night!

photo

  • Dress: ASOS
  • Shoes: Dolce Vita via Nordstrom (<–found them cheaper than the link I used in yesterday’s post)
  • Tights: Hue
  • Clutch: Aldo via consignment; similar
  • Coat: Banana Republic via consignment; similar;  similar
  • Earrings: Charming Charlie
  • Rings: glass ring (via gifted) & David Yurman (via gifted)
  • Bracelet: via borrowed from my mama

XO,

Lizzie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Outfit Inspo, What I Wore

4 responses to “What I Wore: Charity Event Edition

  1. Pingback: Cyber Monday Deal Roundup | The Magic Tree

  2. Pingback: Reader Request: What I Wore my First Week of Work | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

