When Motivation Wanes

Hi friends – happy Hump Daaaaaaaay to you! (mike mike mike)

LAST NIGHT

There’s always at least one night per week that I don’t feel like cooking dinner, and last night was it. We typically order something or have a “fend-for-yourself” meal (which usually means avocado toast for me and frozen pizza for Bobby).

Welp, this happened instead.

easy mac2

And I’d been lyin’ to you if I said it wasn’t delicious.

close up

Dinner was followed by this + about 15 Bit-O-Honeys.

reeces

I will never be “perfect” 100% of the time when it comes to eating a healthy diet, and I’m okay with that. I am learning that the 80/20 rule is how I want to live my life for the rest of my life, and feeling “guilty” for eating mac-and-cheese and candy every once in a while is just redonkulous.

BREAKFAST & WORKOUT

coffee2

When I woke up this morning, I did not feel like working out; I slept poorly, had a headache and was full of congestion. Exercise just didn’t sound like fun. So, I ate my breakfast (baked egg muffins + ketchup) and worked on my computer through the morning.

breakfast2

Around 10 a.m., I threw on my workout clothes and headed downstairs to the gym. I told myself that I could quit halfway through if I really didn’t want to finish. This is my “don’t make me do this” face.

workout no

I used this interval workout from my Health & Fitness Pinterest board:

plan2

I actually really liked this one! It went by so fast because the intervals are shorter – gotta love that. I followed up my cardio with this BeFIT Yoga video.

 yoga2

Though it was tough to find that motivation today, I am so glad I did!

The ratio of me wanting to workout versus not wanting to is probably 50:50. I wish I could be that person who intrinsically wants to exercise seven days a week, but I don’t think that will ever be me.

What helps me get off my butt is to think about:

  • How great is feels to work my heart muscle
  • Feeling and looking good in my skin
  • The importance of exercise to my mental health

What motivates you to get to that group exercise class or go on a long run? 

Claire recently wrote a post about the “all or nothing” approach to fitness that I really enjoyed reading. Check it out if you’re struggling with this as well –> A Healthy Life is a Journey

XO,
Lizzie

Leave a comment

Filed under Motivation, Uncategorized, Workout

Leave a Reply

