Dear Sugar

Dear Sugar,

It’s not you. It’s me.

We’ve been together a long time, but I think it’s time for a break.

When you make me feel sick, I still want more.

Sometimes, I think I’m addicted to you!

I’ve quit you before and dated other people.

Don’t be sad, Sugar. Nothing is forever.

sugar2

Post-pageant treats

Lately, I’ve been indulging in more sugar than usual. Daily dips in the chocolate chip bag, leftover Halloween candy while babysitting, seasonal coffee drinks…it all adds up to me eating too much of a good thing, and I can feel it.

Despite getting enough sleep each night, I often wake up feeling lethargic (and I’m not even working full-time!), with a headache and/or craving something sweet for breakfast. Based on my past experience, these are all symptoms of sugar overload.

Over the summer, I eliminated added sugars for three months(!) while preparing for the Miss Illinois USA pageant. After just five days, I’d never felt betterI had so much energy (and if you know me, you know “high energy” is not a phrase used to describe my personality), my skin cleared up, I was sleeping soundly every night, and my cravings mostly disappeared.

IMG_0835

The treats at Bouchon Bakery from my trip to San Fran

Obviously, I include refined sugar in my diet nowadays, mostly because I don’t think it’s a realistic – or fun – way to live. I’m a firm believer that eating is not about avoiding food groups on the reg (unless it’s for medical reasons). As I’ve said before on the blog, I strive for balanced living, or an {approximately} 80/20 approach to eating. <– 80% unrefined & clean foods; 20% anything goes.

However, I also like to challenge myself when it comes to living a healthy lifestyle. And since I haven’t been feeling my absolute best, it makes sense for that challenge to start now.

With Thanksgiving next week and Christmas right around the corner, I know the next few weeks will be full of indulgent eats. So, to start my holiday season on the right foot, I’m eliminating added sugar for the next seven days, in addition to exercising each of those days. <–I typically exercise 3-4 days per week.

IMG_0645

A vintage barre class selfie

What makes this challenge even more of a challenge is that I have three dinners out planned in the next seven days. Healthy eating can definitely be done at restaurants – you just have to get a bit creative!

Questions of the day:

  • Have you ever eliminated sugar from your diet?
  • Do you notice that other food groups (ie. gluten, dairy, meat, etc.) affect your energy levels?

XO,

Lizzie

6 Comments

Filed under No Sugar

6 responses to “Dear Sugar

  1. I haven’t even eliminated a food group until I got diagnosed over the summer with Celiac disease and for me not having the gluten is in order to live – it’s been super hard but I would rather feel good then miss out of life because I don’t feel good. GOOD LUCK!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Lightened Up Pad Thai | The Magic Tree

  3. Pingback: Wednesday Wisdom | The Magic Tree

  4. Pingback: Rendezvous with Jillian Michaels | The Magic Tree

  5. Pingback: Recap: 7-Day No Sugar + Sweat Everyday Challenge | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

