Everyday Egg White Muffins [Recipe]

As you read this morning, today marks day one of my 7-Day No Added Sugar + Sweat Everyday Challenge. To celebrate the occasion, I baked a dozen of my favorite (and sugar-less!) go-to breakfasts: baked egg muffins.

To get to the recipe, scroll on down to the end.

egg muffins

WORKOUT

I started this morning with a quick 40-minute workout in our building’s gym.

workout2

My routine included a 20-minute warmup on the treadmill alternating different speeds and inclines + 20 minutes of lower body strength training. I completed 3×10 of each exercise: squats + lunges + deadlifts + donkey kicks. It’ s been at least a month since I worked my lower body, and my legs still feel like jelly seven hours later!

After showering, I headed out for an afternoon of errands and a doctor’s appointment. For some reason I did not check the weather forecast before I left the house. I wore FLATS…and it was 15 degrees and windy. I ended up taking a cab four blocks home this afternoon because I couldn’t feel my feet.

LUNCH

I ate part of my packed lunch on the go today, literally while walking down Michigan Ave.

lunch

My wrap included light mayo + mustard + spinach + carrots + deli turkey.

wrap

I ate the rest of my lunch (spicy sunflower seeds + roasted almonds) while waiting for my appointment at the Apple store.

nuts

***

Now, since that’s out of the way, onto the real reason you’re reading this post.

EVERYDAY EGG WHITE MUFFINS

egg muffins 2.0

Ingredients

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Spray 12-cup muffin with non-stick cooking spray
  • Cut each link into smaller pieces, add four pieces to each muffin cup
  • Divide each piece of cheese into three sections, tear each individual section into smaller pieces and add to muffin cups (so that each cup holds 1/3 slice of cheese)
  • Pour egg whites into each cup until 1/4 inch full
  • Bake at 375 for 30 minutes
  • Let cool, store in tupperware for up to five days

Enjoy for breakfast or snacks throughout the week! We make a dozen or two dozen on Sunday nights and nuke them for 30 seconds in the microwave in the mornings. 

XO,

Lizzie

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Healthy Meals, Meals on the go, Reipe, Workout

9 responses to “Everyday Egg White Muffins [Recipe]

  1. I’ve made those eggs before – I usually add a bunch of veggies in mine too. They are so good and easy!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Celebrating Your Pet’s Birthday | The Magic Tree

  3. Pingback: Training Myself to Like Sweet Potatoes | The Magic Tree

  4. Pingback: Wheels Up, Chicago! | The Magic Tree

  5. Pingback: Meal Planning & Workouts for the Week | The Magic Tree

  6. Pingback: Still Alice, Meal Prep + Workouts for the Week | The Magic Tree

  7. Pingback: Meal Prep & Workouts for the Week: Feb. 1-7 | The Magic Tree

  8. Pingback: Meal Prep & Workouts for the Week: Feb. 9-15 | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

