A Random Act of Kindness

You know it’s winter when I’m wearing a turtleneck. I spent most of my life hating those constricting sweaters (I thought they were itchy?…), but now I wear them solely for warmth.

selfie

WORKOUT

After my classes today, I snacked on a honeycrisp apple with peanut butter before heading downstairs to our gym. I am quite sore from yesterday’s strength training – like sore to the point of bracing myself on the handrail while walking down the stairs – but I knew it would help to loosen up my legs on the recumbent bike. I completed a quick 30 minutes while reading The Book Thief, and followed it up with some light stretching.

bike

Sometimes, easy cardio is where it’s at!

***

Now, for my eloquent transition…

While walking to campus this morning, I passed a homeless man. Not a uncommon site in downtown Chicago, but it was 16 degrees outside and he didn’t have gloves. It was cold enough that I couldn’t even take my gloves off to send a text because of the biting wind.

I couldn’t stop thinking about this guy throughout the day.

It’s only November, how will he survive the winter? How is it ok that I have a different pair of gloves to go with all my different coats, and he doesn’t even have one pair? Who am I to complain about the cold when I have a roof over my head and too many clothes in my closet?

I know there isn’t much I can do for him that will improve his life. I can’t provide him a home, or homecooked meals, or a job…but I had an idea.

I’d already planned to stop at Walgreens on my way home, so while there I picked up a pair of gloves. I have no idea if I’ll see him on that corner again, but I walk that same route on Thursdays and will surely look for him.

gloves

By no means and I trying to paint myself as a martyr. There are people out there that provide far more for the homeless population.

Tthis situation got me thinking about finding a regular opportunity to volunteer. When I first moved to Chicago, I spent time volunteering at an animal shelter, but that fell by the wayside when I started graduate school. In this interim period between my final semester and finding full time employment (read: lots ‘o free time), I would love to volunteer in a direct service capacity.

Questions of the day:

  • Do you volunteer in your city? I would love some ideas!
  • What’s the last random of act of kindness you did?
  • Do you feel more inclined to volunteer during the holidays? I know I’m guilty of this.

XO,

Lizzie

3 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, Workout

3 responses to “A Random Act of Kindness

  1. What a nice thing you did – most people wouldn’t have given that man a second glance – please let us know if you do see him again!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Celebrating Your Pet’s Birthday | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

