Lightened Up Pad Thai

Hey guys, hoping your morning is going well.

LAST NIGHT

I’d posted last week about wanting to make Lexi’s Clean Kitchen Spaghetti Squash Pad Thai. I bought the necessary ingredients during our latest grocery haul and decided to give it a whirl last night.

Screen Shot 2014-11-18 at 9.58.30 AM

Pad Thai is one of my favorite takeout foods, but it is most definitely not the healthiest choice. One serving can pack over 1,000 calories and almost 4,000 grams of sodium! Once in a while, I don’t mind consuming a meal with those stats, but I could eat Pad Thai every night 🙂

up close2

The two main ingredients in the sauce, oyster sauce and seasoned rice vinegar, both have added sugar – something I did not realize until I pulled them out of the cabinet. I ended up using about 3/4 of what the recipe called for in order to cut the sugar a bit.

bottle

All in all, I probably had about 5 g sugar in my meal, which I still consider a success for my no sugar challenge. 

far away2

I made a few other adjustments to Lexi’s recipe.

  • Didn’t include mushrooms (can’t stand them); doubled the carrots instead
  • Used canned minced garlic
  • Didn’t include shrimp
  • Used regular eggs, not organic
  • Used soy sauce instead of coconut aminos

Our squash was too small as well; you definitely need a big guy for this recipe. Bobby and I both enjoyed this stuff and thought it tasted just like Pad Thai. Will definitely be making again!

BREAKFAST & LUNCH

I woke up this morning in time to chug coffee, make breakfast and pack up lunch for the day.

coffee2

I didn’t have much of an appetite when I woke up (blame the no sugar?), so I blended a protein smoothie to go. I forgot to take a photo but it included the usual: 1/2 banana + handful of spinach + 1 scoop About Time vanilla protein powder + frozen cherries + 1/2 C almond milk + 6 ice cubes. I also made a similar lunch from yesterday’s.

avo2

I used a whole wheat wrap as my base and added 1/4 avocado mashed + deli turkey + spinach + carrots.

open wrap2

In addition to roasted peanuts and spicy sunflower seeds on the side. <– bought these in the gourmet food section at TJ Maxx, ie. my favorite aisle on earth. 

seeds

***

It currently feels like January in Chicago (16 degrees!!!!!!!), so hoping it’s warmer wherever you are.

XO,
Lizzie

3 Comments

Filed under Healthy Meals, Meals on the go, No Sugar

3 responses to “Lightened Up Pad Thai

  1. Pingback: Still Alice, Meal Prep + Workouts for the Week | The Magic Tree

  2. Pingback: Healthy Superbowl Snacks | The Magic Tree

  3. Pingback: Meal Prep & Workouts for the Week: Feb. 9-15 | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

