Celebrating Your Pet’s Birthday

I’m currently on the tail end of the longest day I’ve had in a while. Three classes + a two hour GRADUATION meeting <– where they tell me everything I must do in the next two weeks in order to bust out of here on time. Woot!

I told Bobby in advance last night that I would not be cooking when I arrived home, and would instead like takeout sushi waiting for me.

What princess wants, princess gets.

Not really. I’m sure we’ll order something or possibly head out to a neighborhood joint.

BREAKFAST & LUNCH

I packed up my lunch this morning to include a turkey sammy. FYI, I really wanted to take a huge bite while taking this pic!

lunch

We’ve got a toasted ezekiel english muffin + light mayo + mustard + reduced fat swiss cheese + deli turkey. I also packed a green apple and peanut butter to enjoy as the sweet part of my lunch. Before heading out the door, I heated up two everyday egg white muffins and grabbed a banana to consume on the run.

apples pb

Per my Thursday ritual, I snagged a blonde roast + 1 pump sugar free cinnamon dulce from Starbucks (added my own almond milk and stevia) with some homemade trail mix on the side. My first obligatory red cup of the season!

coffee and nuts

just nuts

One of my classmates brought cookies to share with the class. How dare he, right?! I think I was still full from lunch because they actually weren’t as tempting as I thought they’d be.

cookies

My creepy attempt at a photo

LAST NIGHT

Baxter was being extra naughty cute before bed last night. We started talking about how when he was little and before I moved in with Bobby, he rarely slept next to me. However, in the past six months, he’s started snoozing legitimately against my face every single night. I told Bobby that maybe it’s because he’s getting older and more needy?! Baxter turns four this January!

IMG_0221

Baxter’s third birthday

The rest of the conversation went something like this:

  • Me: What are we going to do for his birthday this year?
  • Bobby: It doesn’t matter, you’ll be gone. (I’m headed to Florida with my mama in January)
  • Me: I will be?!
  • Bobby: You’re such a bad mom!
  • Me: (nervously pulling up my itinerary on my phone) Found it! I’m leaving the day after his birthday.

Thank goodness. 🙂

We also talked about inviting all the other cats in the building to visit Baxter on his birthday. We pictured them coming out of the elevator and prancing down to our end of the hallway. Yes, we are joking…and yes, we are very strange!

Questions for you:

  • Do you celebrate your pets’ birthdays?
  • Do you pack your lunch to take to work/school?
  • What do you pack?

***

PS. I brought the Walgreens gloves with me today to give to the homeless man. I didn’t spot him on the corner, but I like to think that he found his way into a shelter and is warm and fed. Don’t worry, I’ll keep looking for him!

XO,

Lizzie

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy Meals, Lunch, Meals on the go, Pets

Leave a Reply

