Thanksgiving Weekend in Photos

Hi guys! How are you? Let me first apologize for my three-day hiatus. I full well intended to stick to my regular blogging schedule while traveling over Thanksgiving, but things didn’t quite go according to plan. We arrived at my aunt and uncle’s farm outside of St. Louis on Wednesday afternoon. I soon discovered that they didn’t have wifi, and we were going to be out there for two days! After a ten-second freak out, I just decided to run with it. The lack of computer time ended up being a blessing in disguise. I was able to spend some seriously quality time with my family, the great outdoors and all the precious farm animals. <–more on that in a bit 😉

I have to say that I genuinely missed blogging! In just over a month, it’s become a creative outlet for me when I’m stuck reading about serious mental illness (which I also love, but can be a bit dark). With all of that said, I thought I’d share some of my favorite photos from the weekend in lieu of the usual “Sunday Snaps.” Here we go!

Packed up some healthy snacks on Wednesday morning to enjoy in the car,

roadtrip snacks

but no road trip is complete without a car selfie.

roadtrip selfie

Upon arriving at the farm, I enjoyed some vino with my favorite ladies (apologies for the picture quality on this one!).

group2

On Thanksgiving morning, my mama and I headed out for a brisk walk around the “neighborhood,”

on walk

which looked (and felt) a little more like Christmas than Thanksgiving, but so beautiful nonetheless.

DSC00158

mom on walk hands on hips

We spent some time in the chicken coop (fun fact: I really want my own chicken coop and have for years!),

IMG_1289-0

and even gathered some fresh eggs,

IMG_1292

before canoodling with the horses (and pretending I’m not scared of them!),

lizzie horse

cuddling the kittens,

bobby and cat

and trying to get a good photo of my sister-in-law Gillian with all three doggies. They wanted so much love!

gillian

Later in the afternoon, we headed over to the barn to begin Thanksgiving prep,

barn2

My cousin and aunt had prepared most of the sides in advance, but I was in charge of prepping the pumpkin pie. Somehow, I didn’t take one food photo(!?), but the table sure was pretty,

table

and the ladies donned their most festive attire,

girls aprons

momnme2

The tryptophan really kicked in for all of us and everyone was in bed before 9 p.m.! The next morning, we bid farewell to the farm, and headed back to my aunt and uncle’s house in St. Louis. We spent the rest of the day chilling out and enjoying leftover treats. The last meal of the weekend commenced at my aunt and uncle’s country club, a beautiful spot perfect for photos.

bobby lizzie

laura gill lizzie2

My cousin Laura and sister-in-law Gillian

cousins2

My cousins Laura and Van, and my brother Garrett

We all agreed that this was one of the best Thanksgivings we’ve ever had, and I hope it becomes a new tradition.After three days of indulgent food and minimal exercise, I’m looking forward to getting back into my routine tomorrow. I’ll see you in the morning with my favorite Cyber Monday deals!

DSC00156

XO,

Lizzie

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Holidays

One response to “Thanksgiving Weekend in Photos

  1. looks like you had a wonderful thanksgiving!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

