Weekly Wisdom

Hi friends,

Welcome to the latest addition of Weekly Wisdom. You actually won’t find a lot of wisdom over here, but just some arbitrary thoughts that don’t deserve a whole blog post. Feel free to play along in the comments section! But first, let’s cover dinner.

LAST NIGHT

I have loved my crockpot for many years, but fell in love again this fall. When you cook about four nights per week, it really comes in handy when you’re just not feeling the whole saute/roast/simmer thing. I prepped one of our favorites, Honey Sesame Chicken, around 2:30 p.m. yesterday and let it cook for four hours.

crockpot

I paired it with some sautéed snow peas and broccoli that were dying a slow death in the fridge. This stuff is gooooooood.

dinner close

Plus, it makes a ton of leftovers which is always a win in my book. Now on to the fun part of this post, Weekly Wisdom.

  • Cats on bags – seriously, why do they do this? Those are two different bags on the same day. I’m convinced if I put a plastic bag in the bathtub, he would find it. Do dogs do this???

baxie bag 2baxie bag 1

  • Icing Smiles – I recently read about this nonprofit organization in my November issue of All You Magazine. They accept “cake requests from parents of children with life-threatening conditions and match them with nearby bakers, professionals and amateurs alike.” Growing up in Louisville, my mom and I used to bake for the local Ronald McDonald House, and I’ve been on the lookout for something similar in Chicago. I’m planning to sign on as an amateur baker (obvi), but I’m hoping they know my cakes usually turn out like this:

cake

  • Leann Rimes’ Christmas album is amazing. Christmas songs + country music? Yes please. People can say what they what about girlfriend’s personal life, but I will always love her voice.
  • Wild comes out on Friday! It’s one of my favorite books and I think Reese is the perfect person to portray Cheryl Strayed. I will have to bribe Bobby with candy because he doesn’t really want to see it 🙂

Wild

  • Coyotes in Chicago. This is a real thing. And they’ve learned to look both ways when crossing the streets.
  • I’m considering quitting Class Pass. It was a head-over-heels love affair at first, but I’m just not using it as much as I thought I would, making the cost not worth it. I really LOVE Fly Wheel and Exhale yoga classes, and I hate that I can only attend each three times per month.

sweaty2

Post-Fly Wheel sweat!

  • I’m not the only social worker graduating in two weeks that doesn’t have a job. One of my classmates sent around a survey asking people about their job status. I feel a little better that I don’t have gig lined up since lots of others are in the same jobless boat.

Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 8.40.51 AM

xo,

Lizzie

5 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Healthy Meals, Weekly Wisdom

5 responses to “Weekly Wisdom

  1. Hi there, Lizzie! Keep your head up, you’ll find a job when the time is right. And the crockpot is such a great thing, but I never seem to use mine. I made some stuffed peppers in there recently that came out a little bland and that scared me away. Hope you have a great week!

    Like

    • Thanks, Ashley! Hmm, I once made stuffed peppers that turned out so-so too. I feel like chili is always a good bet in the crockpot. Hope you have a great rest of your week too ❤

      Like

  2. Our cat Sebastian does the same thing with bags, coolers, purses, boxes or basically anything you put on the floor thats new and he can get it/on it.

    I love the crock pot – I was so happy walking in the house tonight and smelling my dinner already made!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Training Myself to Like Sweet Potatoes | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

