Trusting Your Gut

Good morning!

I’m currently sipping on a protein smoothie while typing up this post. I was too lazy to snap a picture, but it looks exactly like this.

BREAKFAST

smoothie

Recycled photo alert! 1/2 frozen banana + 1/2 C frozen cherries + 1 C almond milk + 1 scoop vanilla About Time protein powder + 5 ice cubes

I thought I would share something that has been heavy on my mind, in lieu of Weekly Wisdom today. I’ve always been interested in the power of my gut, especially as of late. In social work school, we are taught that your intuition is one of the most powerful tools you have. If used effectively, it can guide decision making, alert you when something feels “off,” and at its most powerful, save a life. But what about tapping into your gut in regular life?

Hello

Yesterday, I spent the majority of the day in a funk. It’s normal to have days, or even weeks, where you feel down. Whether it’s about your job, your relationship, your health, or something else, funks are just part of life. But yesterday, I couldn’t pinpoint the source of my feelings. I needed to talk about it and was waiting for Bobby to get home when I received a phone call. I should preface this by saying it has been a very difficult year for my family. Without getting into specifics, which I am just not ready to do yet on here, there has been a lot of change for my parents, my brothers and me. Last night I was told something that was unanticipated and to be honest, threw me for a loop.

Though I’m going to be just fine, I realized yesterday how remarkable the mind-body connection can be. My instincts were telling me that something wasn’t right, but I didn’t make the connection. Tapping into your gut doesn’t happen overnight; it takes practice. This Huffington Post article says it perfectly,

“we feel something, ignore the feeling, decide something else is true, then have all kinds of emotions about what we just made up.”

There is a stark different between a thought and a feeling. Thoughts are easier to recognize, but feelings reside in your gut. 

I always create a variety of New Years aspirations that I’d like to achieve – or at least work towards – in the coming year. Figuring out how to use my intuition more effectively will be at the top of my list.

ocean

Of possible interest:

Questions for you:

  • Have you ever made a decision based off a gut feeling?
  • Do you make New Years resolutions?

xo,

Lizzie

2 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

2 responses to “Trusting Your Gut

  1. Natassia

    Intuition is everything! Like my mom always says….”trust those feelings in your tummy!” Also, the universe must know you can handle all these curve balls being thrown at you, you’re incredible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

