‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

And all through the house,

Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse,

All the stockings (weren’t yet) hung, by the chimney with care

In the hopes that St. Nicholas soon would be there.

xmas

Merry Christmas eve, my friends!

I hope you’ve been enjoying these last few days before the holidays. For me, it’s been a mix of downtime on the couch, as well as running around like a crazy woman. Yesterday was the latter, but I’ve spent the majority of today in my jammies, napping and watching movies. Pretty glorious, eh? The agenda for the rest of the day includes gift wrapping, stocking stuffing and prepping brunch for tomorrow.

WORKOUT + LUNCH

I took a 75-minute yoga class yesterday at my mom’s gym while she and Bobby walked/ran the track. Even though I was the youngest in the class by far (the gym is geared towards older adults), I really needed the mindfulness and stretch aspects of the class. It was my first real workout in about ten days and I probably won’t exercise again until Friday. Sometimes you just need a break.

We ate lunch at the gym and I ordered a mediocre spinach salad with fat free honey mustard dressing. I ate about half of it + some of Bobby’s chips.

salad

We spent the rest of the afternoon running errands and braving the Christmas crowds and traffic. It’s such a treat to drive around in what Louisville considers to be traffic. You Kentuckians don’t know how well you have it! 😉

best buy

Best Buy crowds

I was bitten by the baking bug yesterday, so we stopped by Kroger to pick up the ingredients to make ranger cookies. They have always been a favorite in our house, but I’ve never actually tried to make them. The recipe did not disappoint and my dad even ate them for breakfast today! I can’t seem to find the recipe that I followed, but this one looks very similar.

cookies

***

I’m really looking forward to Christmas tomorrow. The part of the day I’m always most excited for is watching my favorite people open their gifts.

I hope you have a wonderful evening with your family and friends!

xo,

Lizzie

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Holidays, Yoga

2 responses to “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

  1. What a cute blog! And that lunch looks amazing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

