Low Key NYE

Happy first day of 2015!

Feels good, doesn’t it? This is the first New Years Day in years that I haven’t woken up with a slight hangover from copious amounts of celebratory drinks. If that’s not a sign of adulthood, I don’t know what is! We played it super low key with an afternoon showing of Mockingjay (so good, but still prefer the first one).

mocking

I totally figured the theater would be packed because aren’t NYE movies a thing? It wasn’t at all, and we were able to snag perfect seats and enjoy our popcorn and peanut m&ms.

popcorn2

The last night of 2014 was topped off with a home cooked meal of crockpot chicken & brown rice risotto. We weren’t too hungry when the timer went off, so I just kept the crockpot on low. Apparently, cooking rice for too long turns it into risotto. I mean, who knew?! It was still quite tasty and a great choice for such a cold night.

rice

I think I need a new food pose. Apparently, holding said food item with left hand and snapping photo with right hand is my pattern.

I’m not going to fool you guys and pretend that I stayed up much past midnight. This old lady watched the Times Square ball drop at 11 p.m. (Chicago time) and was asleep before 12:30 a.m. I know what you’re thinking…I just get cooler with age!

BREAKFAST

2015 started with a big ‘ol bowl of overnight oats. They used to be a regular breakfast staple a few years ago, but I somehow fell off the wagon. Seeing overnight oats on other blogs lately reminded me how much I used to enjoy them. A craving struck this morning and here we are! Note: these did not sit overnight, but only for about an hour. I find the consistency so be about the same.

breakfast

6 oz. plan greek yogurt + 2/3 cup oats + 1/2 almond milk + 1 packet Truvia + 1 Tbsp chia seeds + honey + 1/2 banana prior to serving

I spent the morning plowing through some blog organization. I often find the blogging world to be a black hole. There is so much I want to learn and I’m interested in all of it. I started at 9 a.m. and barely looked up until 1 p.m. Yikes! Can you spot the fruits of my labor? Check out the “Pin it” button on the righthand side and the sharing options at the bottom of this post.

Have a great day and see you tomorrow for Favorite Finds Friday.

xo,

Lizzie

1 Comment

Filed under Healthy Meals, Holidays

One response to “Low Key NYE

  1. Hi Lizzie! Happy New Year to you! I started my year with a big bowl of overnight oats as well. Hope you’re having a relaxing day, now that you’ve come out of the blogging black hole! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

