Wheels Up, Chicago!

Good morning!

I am headed to the sunny beaches of Florida here in a few hours! This trip really snuck up on me – I can’t believe I get to escape 7-degree Chicago for 82-degrees Naples. It feels like a dream 🙂

I just finished 40-minutes of intervals on the treadmill (I’m writing this post in advance, so fingers crossed I woke up to workout!) and am about to shower before hailing a cab to the airport.

LAST NIGHT

I actually ordered Jimmy Johns for myself for dinner, but let’s pretend for a second that last night was Sunday. I threw together a stir fry with chicken, frozen peas, chopped onion, chopped yellow pepper, garlic and broccolini served over brown rice.

stirfry

For the sauce, I whisked together:

  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tsp rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp sugar

We loved this meal, albeit it was a wee bit too hot for me (I’d half the red pepper flakes next time). Stir frys are such a quick and healthy meal. Consider this one added to the weekly dinner rotation.

I also prepped some meals and snacks for Bobby to have throughout the week: egg white muffins and protein breakfast cookies.

egg whites

b cookies

The Bachelor premiere kept us up way too late. I swear, I’ve been watching the ABC franchise for half my life and it sucks me in every freaking time. A three-hour premiere – sheesh! The highlight of the night however, was a special little boy’s fourth birthday. Once his annual wet can of food was opened there was no turning back. This was the best photo I could get. Action shot!

bdy

Happy Birthday, Baxter!

***

I’m not posting any workouts for the week today. Since I’ll be on vacation, exercise will be a little more relaxed – lots of walks, maybe some YouTube yoga or a group exercise class at the local gym.

xo,

Lizzie

2 Comments

Filed under Baxter, meal prep, travel

2 responses to “Wheels Up, Chicago!

  1. I also stayed up way too late watching The Bachelor – 3 hours?? They could have cut out a lot of that! So jealous of your FL trip and happy you get to escape the -35 windchill we are supposed to have tomorrow! Eek!

    Like

Leave a Reply

