Review of Crunch Live

Crunch Live Review Final

I have always been a big fan of at-home workouts. They are convenient, efficient and weather proof, three essential factors in an exercise routine. In my bookshelves are a few key workout DVDs that I turn to on busy days, in particular Jillian Michaels and Biggest Loser Yoga for Weight Loss.

workout2

A few weeks ago Crunch Gym reached out to me about sampling their $10/month online group exercise classes, otherwise known as Crunch Live. Crunch Gym was a pioneer in bring some seriously innovative classes to the world of fitness including Turbo Kick, 2Fly and AirBarre. Their motto is “making fitness fun,” which admittedly, made me roll my eyes at first…but the Crunch Live classes are kind of fun. And don’t get me started on the classes held at the actual gym. Don’t the names Retro-Robix and The Hang-over make you just want to workout? Now if only there was a Crunch Gym anywhere remotely close to my apartment.

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 1.38.48 PM

I had planned to be home in Kentucky for ten days over the holidays and knew I would need some structured workout options in order to stay on track. Essentially, my trial of Crunch Live came at the perfect time. Below I’ve included a full review of the program.

PROS:

  • Inexpensive. At $10/month, you can’t really beat it. That’s only $2 more than my Netflix subscription and is much healthier for me. 🙂 If you’re into group exercise classes, it’s a great alternative to a gym membership or even a supplement to it. Plus, there are no contracts and you can cancel at any time, which is always a plus.
  • Quality trainers. Have you ever watched an exercise DVD and thought the trainers look discombobulated? (I’m looking at your, background participants from Jillian Michael 30-day Shred). Totally not the case with the Crunch Live videos. They are shot beautifully and the trainers look and act like experts.

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 1.40.42 PM

  • Option to save your favorites. I tried a lot of the videos, so it was crucial to be able to save them down in my personal video library and be able to refer back to my favorites later in the week.
  • Suggested “playlists. Another great asset to the program, Crunch Live offers suggested playlists, a series of shorter workouts designed to maximize your skill and interest levels.
  • Variety. There is literally something for everyone: barre, kickboxing, Pilates, yoga, strength training, cardio dance…you name it. You can also search by class length and find anything from the 15-minute “quickies” to a full 60-minute workout. My personal favorite way to use Crunch Live is to stack three different “quickies” to make it a 45-minute routine (think kickboxing + yoga + abs).

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 1.41.46 PM

CONS:

  • Difficult to navigate website. I am a website snob! In order for me to use a site regularly it has to have a clean layout with functional search options. Crunch Live could use some work in that department, as I found it challenging to search for a particular style of exercise.
  • Few yoga videos. Crunch Live is heavy on the cardio, light on the yoga. Of course this is a personal preference, but it’s the main reason I’ve decided not to purchase a subscription. I’ll be sticking to our building’s gym and studio classes for now.
  • There are so many other FREE online resources. I have an Amazon Prime account and just recently discovered the slew of streaming workouts. Granted, Amazon Prime costs $100 per year, but it still comes out to <$10 per month. I also like to use YouTube and YogaDownload.

Overall, I loved using Crunch Live. The cost, variety of classes, and quality of the instructors are top notch!

***

If you’re interested in giving Crunch Live a try, they’re currently offering a free 3-day trial. Sign up here and let me know if you give it a whirl.

xo,

Lizzie

1 Comment

Filed under At home workout, Review, Workout

One response to “Review of Crunch Live

  1. Pingback: Review of ClassPass | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

