Meal Planning & Workouts for the Week

I’ve had my fair share of kitchen disasters and last night was no exception. I’d planned to bake some panko breaded chicken legs: I placed the frozen meat in the refrigerator to thaw on Saturday afternoon, prepped all my ingredients around dinner time yesterday and realized the chicken was still quite frozen. I ran it under room temp water for 20 minutes, but it was still way too solid for the recipe. Bobby and I were starving and wouldn’t have eaten until 9 p.m. if we’d waited for the chicken to thaw.

Enter Jersey Mikes to the rescue!

jersey mikes

Turkey and provolone (I ended up taking off the top pieces of bread) + jalapeno chips

The plus side of the whole thing? Dinner will be prepped and ready for tomorrow night. I’d consider it just a mini-disaster.

Anyway, how was your weekend? I hope it was exactly what you needed, whether relaxing, social, productive, low key or something else. Ours was a combo of the above and also included some downright tasty meals.

On Friday night I decided to conquer a cooking fear of mine: steak. I guess it was the possibility of grossly under or overcooking red meat that always turned me off. I was feeling ballsy and went with the Barefoot Contessa mustard-marinated flank steak. Thanks to my cousin Laura for text-coaching me through the entire process!

fri dinner

I ended my meal with a vanilla mug cake topped with sprinkles. It was everything.

mug cake

Saturday started with a heaping bowl of overnight oats. I combined 3/4 cup vanilla greek yogurt + 1/2 cup oats + 1/2 cup almond milk + 1 tsp chia seeds, topped with walnuts.

ooats

Bobby had some work to finish in the morning so I spent a few hours reading Unbroken. In case I haven’t mentioned it before, it’s one of the best, if not the best, books I have ever read.

We wanted to head out for lunch and were both in the mood for salad/sandwich fare. We walked a few blocks to Timothy O’Tooles, a neighborhood sports bar that has become a go-to for us. I realize this picture does not appear appetizing (particularly since I’d already dug into it before I remembered to snap a pic), but they have fantastic french onion soup. I also had the starter version of their michigan avenue salad.

french onion soup

I guess this was the weekend of eating out for us because we ended up at brunch on Sunday morning (I must have been taken against my will 😉 ).

lizzie brunch2

I ordered two scrambled eggs, toast and hash browns.

brunch

The rest of the weekend was spent spring January cleaning. I cleaned out our storage unit, organized files and re-organized the coat closet. One of my resolutions is to live a little more clutter-free. So far, so good!

organize

MEAL PREP & WORKOUTS FOR THE WEEK

Despite Sunday’s dinner disaster, I managed to prep some items for the week including crockpot shredded chicken (for salads and lunches) and a batch of egg muffins. I also outlined our tentative dinner plans:

  • Monday: crispy mustard-roasted chicken, brown rice and veggie
  • Tuesday: ground turkey tacos
  • Wednesday: spaghetti squash and meatballs
  • Thursday: leftovers
  • Friday: out
  • Saturday: leftovers/takeout
  • Sunday: TBD

Last week was a little sparse in the exercise department, so I hope to make up for it this week. Here is my tentative plan:

  • Monday: foam rolling
  • Tuesday: 40-minute cardio; lower body strength training
  • Wednesday: yoga; foam rolling
  • Thursday: 40-minute cardio; upper body strength training
  • Friday: rest
  • Saturday: 20-minute cardio; yoga
  • Sunday: foam rolling

***

Questions for you:

  • Do you have a cooking fear? Grilling terrifies me. I hate fire, so maybe that’s why!
  • Do you plan out your workouts and/or meals? 

xo,

Lizzie

5 Comments

Filed under meal prep, Weekend, Workouts for the Week

5 responses to “Meal Planning & Workouts for the Week

  1. Laura E.

    That chicken is delish!

    Like

  2. Natassia

    Tell me more about this mug cake…

    Like

  3. Pingback: 5 Favorite At-Home Workouts | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

