New Job Anxiety

new job anxiety

Last night Bobby brought it to my attention that I haven’t talked a whole lot about my new job on here. I included a few details in a Favorite Finds post a few weeks ago, but other than that, my mentions of it have been sparse. Funny, because all I’ve been thinking about lately is my new 9-5.

Well guess what? Next Monday, I start a job that I’ve been dreaming about for three years! I’ll be a staff therapist for a small private practice that specializes in treating eating disorders.

I didn’t know what an eating disorder was as a kid. Weight was never a topic of conversation in my family, and my mom purposefully kept “fashion” magazines out of our house. She didn’t want me to develop a negative body image, for which I will always be grateful. I danced ballet into my teen years and watched friend after friend go to “dance camp” for the summers. In reality, as I would find out later, they were in rehab for an eating disorder. While I never developed eating issues of my own (thank God), I became passionate as to why someone develops a compulsion about food and what the health consequences can be. In my late teens into early twenties, I read so many memoirs and fiction novels about women with eating disorders. I couldn’t learn enough. I enrolled in graduate school two years ago with the sole goal of working as an eating disorders therapist. At the risk of sounding too trite, I feel like it’s the reason I was put on earth.

There is literally nothing else I would rather be doing with my life. 

Even though I (will be) making a living by listening to others, I have a hard time opening up about myself. Yes, I write a blog that’s about my life, but my primary goal is to inspire others to live a balanced life. I guess my fear in talking too much about my career would take the focus off the “healthy living” genre that is this blog. I thought that emphasizing how happy I am that I’ve found my dream job and how proud I feel would be too “me, me, me!” I figured that expressing my anxieties about starting anew and not being a good enough therapist would seem too negative Nancy. I worried that you come here for overall health inspiration, not details about my working life.

But what am I so afraid of? This is my blog; my corner of the world where I can write about whatever the heck I please. This new chapter in my life is what makes me me. My life is not consumed by health and fitness. I am so much more than that. I vow to be more open with you moving forward, my friends.

If you made it this far, thanks for reading! ❤

xo,
Lizzie

7 Comments

Filed under Goals, Social Work

7 responses to “New Job Anxiety

  1. Congratulations!! That sounds like such an amazing job! My research in grad school was on eating disorders, and I really thought that’s the population I would end up with. I’m excited for you!

    Like

  2. Hi Lizzie!! Congratulations on finding your dream job. Wow, that’s a big and courageous role to fill. I wish you the best of luck and would love to hear more about it, but of course, I respect your thoughts on keeping some things off the blog. However, you can definitely talk about things that aren’t always 100 percent positive and still be an inspiration!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Favorite Finds Friday {1/30} | The Magic Tree

  4. Pingback: Meal Prep & Workouts for the Week: Feb. 1-7 | The Magic Tree

  5. Pingback: Thoughts on a Thursday | The Magic Tree

Leave a Reply

