40-Minute Treadmill Walking for Beginners

Yesterday was one of the best days ever.

Whole Foods opened in our neighborhood! While this may not be news to some, the ‘hood has been void of a major grocery store for over a year now. Chicago is a very walkable town and to have to drive to buy groceries is just a travesty. I’ve been counting down the days until I could spend my whole paycheck on organic chia seeds and $8 cold pressed juices. 😉

Like the strange person that I am, I woke up early to stand in line with 499 of my closest friends.

Whole Foods line

We were all vying to be one of the first 500 people into the store so that we could snag complimentary gift cards. They were handed out at random and ranged in value from $5 to $25, with one lone gift card worth $500. I, of course, was the lucky recipient of a $5 card. Ha! But hey, it was still a fun hour or so spent in line. I made some new friends and tried a number of samples that were passed around.

Whole Foods Samples

Some sort of cookie bar & locally brewed coffee

I also came away with a green juice. A bit too much cayenne for my taste, but I already know I’ll be a frequent visiter to the juice bar. I love a good fresh juice, but absolutely hate to clean my juicer. Who’s with me? Such a pain!

Whole Foods green juice

Also, if you can’t find me, I’ll be here…

Whole Foods Cookie island

Drowning in icing and sprinkles. Most people drink after a stressful day? I eat cookies.

We even went back to Whole Foods for dinner to take advantage of the 50% off hot bar. It was a freaking mad house and I was so overwhelmed that I just shoved random items into my cardboard boxes. Don’t ask me what’s in there. I don’t know.

Whole Foods Hot Bar

Now, to switch gears a bit, let’s talk fitness. When the cold temps sweep into Chicago, I feel the need to take my workouts indoors. You guys already know I’m a big fan of at-home workouts, but I also turn to the treadmill to vary my routine a bit. I’m not much of a runner and never have been. I ran a half-marathon once in college, kind of enjoyed training, but also never felt those runner endorphins people talk about (leading me to think they are a myth!).

I am however, a big fan of power walking. If I set the incline and speed at just the right levels, I see a major calorie burn on my polar watch and really feel my heart pumping. I could never walk at the same speed or incline throughout the duration of a treadmill session. I would die of boredom before I found out if Adnan Syed is guilty! (any Serial fans out there?). Interval training has become integral to my consistency with cardio.

This 40-minute treadmill walking workout is perfect for beginning exercisers or anyone who is looking for a moderate calorie burn. It’s something I turn to at least once a week on the days that I use our building’s gym.

*Please remember that I am not a personal trainer or a doctor and am just sharing what works for my personal fitness level. Always listen to your body and check with a professional before starting any exercise program.

40-minute treadmill walking beginners

***

Questions for you:

  • What’s your favorite ingredient to put in fresh juice? <– I love carrots for the flavor and color.
  • What’s your go-to form of cardio? <– Spin class for me. I miss Fly Wheel!

xo,

Lizzie

3 Comments

Filed under Treadmill Workout

3 responses to “40-Minute Treadmill Walking for Beginners

  1. OMGOSH I would totally be in line too lol!!! I guess were the crazies who love whole foods lol!!! and my fav ingredient in fresh juice is lemon and cucumber! YUM!

    Like

  2. One of my friends posted a picture on Facebook of the line for the new Whole Foods – it was crazy long! At least you got one of the gift cards! That green juice looks so good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

