Valentine’s Day Treats (& my Most Embarrassing Baking Attempt of All Time)

Valentines Day Treats

Single or taken, I have always loved Valentine’s Day. What can I say? I am a girly-girl who loves pink, glitter and a candlelight dinner (and I love to rhyme?).

Valentine’s Day really crept up on me this year. I can remember every detail of last year’s holiday of love, mostly because it was my first Valentine’s spent with Bobby. Instead of a fancy night out, we decided on homemade pizzas and wine. We bought dough from Whole Foods, googled a sauce recipe and topped the pies with our favorite combo: pepperoni + sausage + all kinds of cheese.

I remember listening to the Al Green station on Pandora whilst whipping up a heart-shaped buttercream-frosted cake for my love. Inspired by Pinterest, I was so excited to try this fancy schmancy dessert and impress Bobby with my baking skills. However, my creation quickly took a turn for the worse when it fell apart in the pan and the icing morphed into a watery mess. I tried to salvage what I could, but ended up with my most embarrassing baking attempt of all time.

Heart shaped cake collage

We still laugh so hard about the heart-shaped cake from hell. In all fairness though, it tasted divine!

In the spirit of Valentine’s Day, I wanted to share some homemade treats that have been inspiring me lately. I always turn to Pinterest or my recipe binder when I want to create something special. After last year’s disaster, I probably shouldn’t bake another cake. However, I also feel the need to redeem myself and I have a vintage cake stand that is collecting dust. We shall see!

  • XOXO Cake

XO cake

Valentines-Day-Peek-A-Boo-Pound-Cake_slice_blog

  • Heart Box (literally the best idea ever, in my opinion)

6094_020411_heart_box_hd

Valentines Chex Mix

Strawberry Vodka Sparklers

Valentines Dipped pretzels

Conversation cookies

Bronwnie kabobs

Questions for you:

  • Any good Pinterest disaster stories? 
  • Do you and your significant other have a V-Day tradition?
  • For you single ladies, “Gal”-entine’s plans?

xo,

Lizzie

Valentines Day Treats

6 Comments

Filed under Baking, Holidays

6 responses to “Valentine’s Day Treats (& my Most Embarrassing Baking Attempt of All Time)

  1. Hi Lizzie! The first Valentine’s that my husband and I spent together we did the exact same thing as you — made homemade pizzas, had wine and listened to some romantic tunes on Pandora. It was perfect, and we’ve repeated that a couple of times through the years. I LOVE it! 🙂

    Like

  2. This cake makes me laugh – I’ve so been there, too! I love all these ideas – especially the custom heart candy box. That’s such a great gift, especially if you have a husband like mine who doesn’t eat chocolate!

    Like

  3. GAH, these are all so cute. My heart is swooooning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

