Reader Request: What I Wore my First Week of Work

What I Wore to Work collage

I remember when I was hired for my first full-time job. I was a freshman in college and home for the summer. I signed on as a marketing intern for one of the fortune 500 companies in Kentucky. I was used to wearing leggings and sorority sweatshirts all day everyday and was in for a shock when I had to start dressing in business casual attire Monday through Friday. I thought that meant black pants, button downs and cardigans, so my mom and I headed to LOFT to overhaul my wardrobe. I’m pretty sure I bought the same “work trousers” in black, navy and brown. I still cringe when I think of my weekly wardrobe during those days (and for the record, my mom still buys me cardigans 😉 ).

Fortunately, I’ve become a little more creative in my work wear. Of all the occasions to dress for, I actually enjoy putting together a business casual look. I find that the majority of my closet is tailored towards career clothes, which makes it easy to conceptualize an outfit every morning. Now, if you asked me to dress for a casual weekend brunch, I would end up in yoga pants and an oversized Patagonia. I just can’t get a handle on “weekend wear.”

While I am definitely not a fashion blogger, I do love nice clothes, style and shopping as much as the next girl. The catch is that I’m a bargain hunter. If I want that $1,000 handbag, I will wait for it to go on sale or track it down on eBay. Lately, I’ve been all about buying investment pieces, items that might be pricey, but that I will wear more than once per week, are highly versatile and will last me for years to come.

I recently received a message on Facebook from a college friend (hi Katie!). She was interested in where I bought the clothing items from one of my recent posts. This is an exciting moment for The Magic Tree, as today’s post is my first Reader Request! (If there is something you’d like to see on the blog, please let me know!). Without further ado, a roundup of everything I wore to work during my first week.

MONDAY

Blue dress

Note: I ended up wearing the belt on the left.

Dress: Tahari via TJ Maxx | Blouse: Ann Taylor (old) | Belt: on left Talbots, on right LOFT (old) | Tights: Hue | Shoes: Franco Sarto | Bracelets: Betsy Pittard 

TUESDAY

Black tunic outfit

Shirt: Joan Vass via TJ Maxx | Pants: Tahari via TJ Maxx | Shoes: Antonio Melani (very old) | Necklaces: Rose pendant (very old) & James Michelle nameplate

WEDNESDAY

white blazer navy

Blouse: LOFT (old) | Shirt: unknown brand via consignment | Pants: Banana Republic | Blazer: Zara | Shoes: LK Bennett 

THURSDAY

burgandy

Blouse: Ann Taylor | Skirt: Ann Taylor via consignment | Tights: Hue | Shoes: Tory Burch via consignment | Necklaces: Pendant necklace is Coach via consignment & James Michelle | Bag: Kate Spade

FRIDAY

Gray Sweater

Blouse: H&M | Sweater: Max Studio via TJ Maxx | Pants: Max Studio via TJ Maxx | Shoes: Madewell | Necklace: old via Groupon

What I Wore to Work collage

There’s been a little fashion talk on the blog before. In case you missed it:

xo,

Lizzie

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion, Reader Request, What I Wore

Leave a Reply

